Skip to content

Survey on multi-monitor setups !

August 29, 2011

Recently, Brendan and I have been arguing about what can reasonably be expected from a multi-monitor OS (among other graphical stack things). We’ve reached the conclusion that nothing replaces real-world user data.

So anyone interested, please answer this survey about multi-monitor setups and expectations !

(Results will be published here once the amount of answers has reached a steady state, I’d say in a month at worst)

Update : Wow ! LOTS of feedback ! The 200-answer limit of my free PollDaddy account has just been busted in a matter of hours ! Don’t worry, though, and keep your feedback coming, for your answers beyond that are kept somewhere around, just outside of my reach right now. I can’t afford the yearly $200 fee of the cheapest paid account, but I’m currently investigating whether PollDaddy are interested in selling monthly contracts. If not, no issue, full results will just be coming in a few months, or I’ll introduce a donation system to quicken things a bit :)

Update 2 : Ok, you CAN get a monthly subscription, and I just got one :) 562 responses and counting ! Now I only have to wait for this pretty exponential curve to flatten a bit…

From → OS development

6 Comments
  1. If you put up a donation, I’m sure that some of the people who’d done the survey would donate to help get an account. :)

    If the initial 200 each put up a dollar… Heck, I’d throw a solid $10 at it without even thinking, really.

  2. Yes, that’s another option ! Let’s see what the PollDaddy team replies first. If they are into monthly contracts, it probably shouldn’t cost more than $30 for a single month, and that sum I can totally afford on my own :)

    EDIT : Mentioning the donation possibility in the article.

  3. I wrote an article on multimonitors recently –
    http://www.i-programmer.info/professional-programmer/i-programmer/2641-more-monitors.html

    I’ve done the survey – can I have permission to repeat your results at the end of the article?
    (With all due links back etc…)

  4. Of course, these results are public and contain no personal data so as far as I’m concerned you can do whatever you want with both them and the raw data :)

  5. Ok thanks….
    I have a perhaps silly question.
    How do you know when a machine with built in video or a graphics card supports two monitors?
    It is very rarely in their spec but it seems if the machine/card has a VGA socket and a DVI socket then it supports two monitors.
    Now I’ve just got a machine that has a VGA socket and an HDMI socket – will this support two monitors?

  6. I don’t know if there is a general rule for this. It depends on the internals of the graphics card, which will determine whether it has independent outputs or all outputs mirror the same input image. My guess would be that the lower-end a GPU gets, the higher the chances that it doesn’t support two independent monitors.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.