Migration complete

Welcome to TOSP’s new home ! As far as I can tell, data migration is now complete, even though some glitches may remain. I’m asking the few fellow users around to check that.

Why did I move ? Because some times ago I started to wonder how many Google services I used.

  • Search (regular and Images)
  • Scholar
  • GMail
  • Youtube
  • Analytics
  • Blogger
  • Chromium

That’s too many. I shouldn’t allow a regular brand to have control on so much aspects of my life. So I did some spring cleaning, and now it’s rather :

  • Scholar
  • GMail
  • Youtube

It’s still maybe a bit too much, considering how much powerful (and hence dangerous) Google are, but I feel better this way. Moreover, WordPress is more interesting than Blogger feature-wise, even though its control panel is quite messy because it tries to pack a bit too much features at once. Anything I thought about doing on Blogger but couldn’t, I can on wordpress. On the other hand, on the regression side, CSS editing is a paying customer feature. I might put some money in it one day (they deserve it), but at the moment the ugly rendering of the title is going to stay as is.

2 thoughts on “Migration complete

  1. akavel May 4, 2010 / 10:54 pm

    having tried bing, but not being satisfied with it, I’d be very interested to ask what search provider did you switch to?

  2. Hadrien May 4, 2010 / 11:00 pm

    Yahoo. It’s not perfect (I especially dislike their bloated portal and prefer to use firefox’s search bar), but it’s the best alternative to Google that I’ve found so far. They remain somewhat lightweight (there’s just that annoying sidebar) and generally provide just as good results.

Leave a Reply

