Today is a good day :’)

After months of design considerations, documentation hell, various wall-banging, slow coding, and computer overheating due to Bochs, I’m finally one step closer towards being done with my bootstrap 32-bit kernel and starting work on the 64-bit C++ one. Because finally, I’m done collecting information needed by the main kernel (command line, bootloader name, startup drive, and a map of memory describing which places are free to use, which places are used, and how each place is used). I feel so proud, right now…

Kernel information displayed using debug routines, aka "Hell, it's about time !"
See the power of OS development !

I know, it sucks compared to what’s around, even in the OS hobbyist world. It’s just some debug info displayed using some debug routines (that I’m proud of too) in a pretty fashion. But well… I guess that’s what parents feel facing their child who just stood…

2 thoughts on “Today is a good day :’)

  1. David Pelletier May 2, 2010 / 4:18 pm

    Erm why shouldn’t it be impressive? Let’s just say that what you coded is rather more complicated that MOV AX,4C00;INT 21H kind of code.

    Keep up the good work! :)

  2. Hadrien May 2, 2010 / 7:03 pm

    Because it took me more than a month of work to get and store in an unified way information that GRUB collects for me (command-line, bootloader name, startup drive) or should be collecting for me (full memory map).

    Though to do that, I had to write and use hundreds of lines of debug code, and learn a lot about things like linker scripts, ELF file format and symbols which could certainly be useful later, especially if I have to modify this code. And I had some other work to do at the same time. So maybe you’re right and it’s not too bad for a first attempt at OS-deving ;)

Leave a Reply

