A little update

Well, it’s been a long time since the last time I wrote a blog post, so I think that this blog needed a little update.

Development went pretty well for some times, and the bootstrap part is close to be completed.  It just needs some code rewrite in places and a function to generate an identity-mapped 64-bit page table. But I can’t write that now. Why ? Am I giving up so close ? No, I’ve got some work to do. I’m in internship, which eats up all my spare time in work days, and my week-ends are not that empty either because I use them to do all those things I usually do in the evening.

It ends at the beginning of July, then I go on holidays, but starting with the last week of August, I should get enough time to do everything I want, including OS-related things.

To end this post on a more positive note, I’ll soon get a new computer. It’s a laptop with brand new hardware that will help me getting some work done and, what’s more important for us here, that’ll be useful for OS testing and driver development once code is mature enough ;)

Power management ? Check
Multicore ? Check
x86_64 ? Check
Large amount of RAM ? Check
High-speed USB 3 ? Check
Wi-fi N ? Check

Thank you for reading everyone ! I’ll be back asap.

6 thoughts on “A little update

  1. Kroc Camen May 31, 2010 / 4:50 pm

    How will you be handling driver compatibility? It’s always a sore spot in any alternative OS.

  2. Amenel May 31, 2010 / 9:52 pm

    Hey Hadrien,
    “I’m in a stage which eats up all my spare time in work days, and my week-ends are not that empty either because I use them to do all those things I usually do in the evening.”
    I know how it feels!

    What do you mean “in a stage”? “internship” or “plateau”?. Anyway, what’s your background? Is your day job in computers or software?

  3. Hadrien May 31, 2010 / 10:09 pm

    First, I plan to make a “proof-of-concept” OS whose goals is to show off the features and which works on standard PC devices (ie VESA video, PS/2 or compatible mouse&keyboard, and so on…), plus maybe my own computer if I got some spare time.
    Then, there’s two options, the way I see it :
    1/I manage to attract enough devs with that technological demo, so that I can start targeting a reasonable amount of computer hardware.
    2/I port existing driver software from linux and BSD, which is gonna be a PITA because of the big differences between both architectures (kernel-mode driver vs user-mode driver, “everything is a file” unix principle…).

    It will surely be a sore spot for some time. but I have to concentrate on more general-purpose things at the moment. The sole thing that can ease the thing up a bit is that driver development is one of the sole tasks in computing that scales well across multiple developers, as soon as you have some good driver writing guidelines (coming once the kernel is completed).

  4. Hadrien May 31, 2010 / 10:20 pm

    Internship… I thought that “stage” was used this way in english sorry ^^’

    I’m a physics student, completing a licence. My stage is about studying bistability in optical devices (in other words : optical memories). It’s a very fun research subject, even though it involves horrible calculations and repetitive headaches when something doesn’t give the good result. I’m very happy to have found this one, because I’m doing interesting physics instead of just coding boring data analysis software that’ll only be used one time, and because I’m getting paid too ^^ Many of my friends did not get that chance !

  5. Amenel May 31, 2010 / 10:31 pm

    Yes I know, there are so many French words in English that it’s easy to forget that some words do not keep the same meaning… like “blouse”, “phrase”. In fact, I sometimes smile to myself when people mistake “actually” for “actuellement”, which is the most frequent error I hear… pauvres de nous! Faudrait changer quelque chose au système éducatif au niveau des langues.

    Vast task you’re undertaking there. When the device time has come for your project, I’ll be glad to contribute. Keep faith!

  6. tehmull June 1, 2010 / 9:33 am

    Happy to see you’re still going!

Leave a Reply

