Happy birthday, OS|periment !

(If anyone can give me photographic credits for the background image, please do so ! I found it in a web search, but no credits were given and the name at the bottomleft corner is too small for me to read…)

So, the OS|periment is celebrating its second birthday today, and like the last time this happened, I’d like to celebrate by doing a quick review of what has happened to this project during 2011.

So that’s it for 2011. I’m far from having achieved my tentative goal of having the kernel done and running on real hardware, but it’s not as if I had spent all my time wanking working on physics stuff either. Kernel-side design work left includes writing the interface to an “Interrupt manager” kernel component (which is almost done), and fully designing an “I/O manager” kernel component whose task is to manage bidirectional communication between the CPU and external hardware through such things as I/O ports and memory-mapped registers. I have already asked the wise minds of OSnews about this and drafted something on paper, now it just needs a lot of polish and a bit of spare time to become an article on this blog.

For now, though, three things are going in my way as far as OS development is concerned :

  1. I have some exams left and I still have to do great at them.
  2. Work continues on that other project mentioned earlier. As said before, you’ll hear about it soon, once it’s ready.
  3. I also have to find a flat for my next internship, which takes place in one of the most student-crowded city of France and begins in March. Hurry is in order.
One thought on “Happy birthday, OS|periment !

  1. MasterSplinter January 10, 2012 / 2:35 pm

    **Runs out with a moose head and a cake and 4 other annoying people**

    “One, two, three, GO!
    Happy happy birthday, from all of us to you!
    We wish it was our birthday, so we could party too!
    Happy happy birthday, may all your dreams come true!
    We wish it was our birthday, so we could party too!”

Leave a Reply

