Getting back to business, part 1: Concerns

Okay, things are getting better at the end of this week and should stay well for a month, so I think it’s time to discuss what I plan to do in order to 1/Restart work on TOSP and 2/Ensure that it doesn’t stop again in the near future.

When thinking about the way I code, it appears to me that it is both hackish and inefficient. I tend to design the minimal amount of stuff that I need, then jump into code, and subsequently face the hurdle of constant rewrites and new requirements that emerge faster than I get away with old ones. In a way, that is not necessarily surprising, considering that I learned programming on my own, from books that tend to focus on practical use of various programming languages rather than more abstract subjects such as software design, architecture, and development methodology.

Still, that may be what causes me issues with TOSP, and also caused the demise of almost every single one of my large programming projects in the past. Because that process of blindly hitting walls until I reach a satisfactory exit is both painful and depressing. So, it wouldn’t hurt if I found myself a good book focusing on software development methodology beyond the coding process itself. Beyond that, it seems to me that I should read more books about programming in general: I need something to do that does NOT involve an LCD screen before I go to bed at night, and learning that kind of stuff wouldn’t be wasting time. Guess I’ll go on a trip to the local bookstores tomorrow, looking for this kind of stuff, but preferably in French since my brain stops processing English past a certain hour…

Oh, and while I’m at it, I would also like to take a look at this C# thing that is quite popular in the Windows world, because it sounds like a good basis for my future cross-platform desktop app development tasks, as I still wait for the go library ecosystem to mature a bit. But on this front, I have already found some interesting documentation.

2 thoughts on “Getting back to business, part 1: Concerns

Leave a Reply

